top of page

Magi・Taiwanese Braised Pork Rice・Taiwan

Updated: Oct 8, 2021





Name:Chiang Peng Yu (Magi)

Hometown:Taiwan

Faculty/Year : 4th year, Faculty of Business

Favourite Japanese Food: Japanese snacks





Q: How would you describe Taiwan?
A: It's a very beautiful place!

The eastern part of Taiwan is less populated and the natural environment is very beautiful. Because my mom's hometown is in the east part of Taiwan, I often go to experience the beauty of nature. Especially, there is an island called Green Island.




Q: How's the weather in Taiwan?
A: There are two seasons in Taiwan!

There are two seasons in Taiwan, Summer and Winter, but if Japanese people would like to visit Taiwan, I would recommend that they come during the Winter season. Because, Taiwan's Summer may feel too hot for Japanese people. Usually, the temperature will exceed 40° C.


Q: When is the perfect time to go to Taiwan?

A: March!

Temperature's March feels like Autumn in Japan, which I think will be very comfortable to travel and have fun while in this weather. Although it's very hot in the Summer, but if you could come in the summer, there's also a Taitung hot air balloon festival with an incredible atmosphere, so please come and visit us.




Q: Please share with us your memories about this cuisine, Braised Pork Rice.
A: The best memory I had with this cuisine is having a bowl of Taiwanese Braised Pork Rice after my part-time job!

There is always a night market in Taiwan. Every time we finish our part-time job, we'll have a great time eating together, talking about the hardships of the day, and

listening to everyone's recent situation. The dish was originally made from the leftover ingredients during some festivals so it was sold very cheaply, and I was surprised at the expensive price when I tried to order it at Uber Eats in Japan. If you come to Taiwan, you could enjoy it at a rather cheap price and taste the authentic cuisine!



 




Q: What is your favourite place in Japan?
A: I love Tohoku!

I went to Tohoku with my friends in the Summer of 2019, and it was a great place to forget the hustle and bustle of Tokyo and just relax and chill. Especially, the Kanto Festival in Akita was so beautiful that it left an impression on me. When I looked up at the sky at night, the stars were beautiful and it was very nice. I would definitely like to go again if I have the opportunity.




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page